John Stark Regional High School

Notice JSD 2017 School Warrant - Teachers' Contract


To the inhabitants of the School District in the towns of Henniker and Weare qualified to vote in District affairs:
You are hereby notified to meet at the John Stark Regional High School Cafeteria on Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 7:00 p.m. to act on the following subject. Ballot voting will be on Tuesday, June 20, 2017 at The Henniker Community School, Henniker, with the polls open at 7:00 a.m. and closing at 7:00 p.m. and the Weare Middle School, Weare, with the polls open at 7:00 a.m. and closing at 7:00 p.m.

Article 01: Shall the John Stark School District vote to approve the cost items included in the collective bargaining agreement reached between the John Stark School Board and the John Stark Teachers’ Association which calls for the following increases in salaries and benefits at the current staffing levels over those paid in the prior fiscal year:

Year Estimated Increase
2017-2018 $104,149 (One Hundred Four Thousand One Hundred Forty-Nine Dollars)
2018-2019 $126,319 (One Hundred Twenty-Six Thousand Three Hundred Nineteen Dollars)
2019-2020 $ 98,780 (Ninety-Eight Thousand Seven Hundred Eighty Dollars)

and further raise and appropriate the sum of $104,149 (One Hundred Four Thousand One Hundred Forty-Nine Dollars) for the school year 2017-2018, such sum representing the additional costs attributable to the increase in salaries and benefits over those of the appropriation at current staffing levels? (THIS WARRANT ARTICLE IS SUPPORTED BY THE SCHOOL BOARD.) (Majority vote required.)

The John Stark Teachers' Association 6th Annual Acoustic Cafe

L to R: Lizzy Poehlmann, Rachel Wrzeszcz, Mikayla Caterino and Megan Newhall

The John Stark Teachers' Association 6th Annual Acoustic Cafe was held on April 14.  All proceeds from the various student, teacher and parent performances go towards student scholarships.
More than $900 was raised Friday night.

Theatre Advances to New England Festival

The John Stark Regional High School theater production of  She Kills Monsters excelled in their April 7  performance at the New Hampshire Educational Theatre Guild's  state festival and qualified as one of two schools to represent the state of New Hampshire at the  New England Theatre Festival in Norwich, MA, on April 20-22.   
Additionally, John Stark sophomore Delainey Lapointe and senior Mykala Caterino received awards for excellence in acting and the entire John Stark production design team received the Sarah P. Bunkley Award for Best Technical Element at the state festival.  Sophomore Trinette Hunter was also elected to one of three student representative positions on the New Hampshire Educational Theatre Guild's Executive Board. 

Lily Jensen Photo selected to be published

The John Stark Photo Show at the Weare Public library has been extended to run through May 3.  Lily Jensen had this piece selected to be printed in the hardcover book, Best of College & High School Photography 2017. 

National Scholastic Silver Medal Award Winner

It is with great excitement that the John Stark Art Department announces our National Scholastic Art Winner. Alison Wright won a National Silver Medal Award for her drawing titled “Reach”. Her work was judged against other high school student’s work from all over the country.  It is a huge honor for Alison to be recognized for her work. Congratulations!

She Kills Monsters heading to States!

l-r:  Rachael Wrzeszcz and Mykala Caterino in a scene from She Kills Monsters.
photo credit: Elza Brechbul

The cast and crew of the John Stark Regional High School production of She Kills Monsters Young Adventure's Edition has advanced to the NH Educational Theatre Guild's State Drama Festival to be held April 7 and 8 a the Gilford High School.  John Stark advances to this state round from the regional competition held March 25.  Two participating schools from the state festival will go on to perform at the New England Drama Festival.

Additionally, John Stark students Mykala Caterino, Rachael Wrzeszcz, and Jay Lynch received acting awards at the regional competition.  Receiving technical awards were  John Stark student designers Jack McCallum, Kacie Palmacci, Jessica Bedard, Rachael Wrzeszcz, Mikayla Caterino, Eli Bryant, Cameron Morse, Spencer Janelle, Tian Quinn, Josh Gagnon, Erik Hilyard, Nathan Hamman, and Jillian Palmacci.



Several of our students qualified to go to the National Convention in CA.  They are:


Marisa Dobbins placed 1st in Principles of Finance

Warren Quinlan placed 1st overall in Food Marketing Series

Owen Payeur and Jackson Flanders placed 1st overall in Financial Services Team Decision Making

Greg Labrie placed 2nd overall in Business Finance Series

Alycia and Alex Silva placed 3rd overall in Marketing Management Team Decision Making

Welcome to Our New Website!

We have been working hard over the summer to develop new websites for each school in SAU 24.  If you find any mistakes, broken links, etc. in the new website, then please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so it can be fixed as soon as possible.  Don't forget to include a description of the error and a link to the page on which it's located. Suggestions regarding the new website can be submitted by clicking the Submit Feedback on Website link on the bottom footer of any webpage.

Staged Reading of Original Play "I’m Still Alive"

There will be a staged reading of the play I’m Still Alive on Friday, August 22 at 6 PM on the John Stark Regional High School stage. Admission is free and includes a talk back with the actors, director, and playwright after the performance. This original play was written by John Stark Senior Mackenzie Peacock as her capstone project. I’m Still Alive is a tragicomedy that examines the effects of bullying. Parents please note: there is profanity and may not be suitable for young children.

Read more: Staged Reading of Original Play "I’m Still Alive"